top of page
Search
  • ZYLIF_

Words from DEPART (I) 英文版

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

作者:朱一龙

Written by Zhu Yilong

英文翻译:居仔啊^

English translation by 居仔啊^



Every new journey is part of the landscape of life. On this path, I've never though about stopping; I set out with courage and always stayed true to myself. Let us depart immediately.


*


The wind is slightly chilly, yet slightly warm. It's September in Sydney. Standing here, my body temperature seems foreign to me – the coldness of my hands is apparent. Around me, tourists and passers-by come and go. They're all smiling and I smile in return.

Isn't this a sense of belonging? Hello, can you hear me? Be it during the remnants of winter, or at the beginning of spring, I hope you'll receive my greeting. How are you? Please accept this smile from the Southern Hemisphere.

*


Specks of sunlight and a wall covered with lizards – these seem to be what the port steadily relies on. A slight chill rushes through me and ruffles my hair. The lovely sunlight and blue waters make me feel at ease. This city accepted me readily and shared its colours with me.


*


Entering an unfamiliar city, an unfamiliar port in an unfamiliar season, it almost feels like all this is new to me and I'm growing up in such landscapes. When I first started learning how to act, I was a little stiff, but I soon started to revel in and experience acting, and found joy in it. I think I've started coming into contact with this city. With the waters rippling before me, I’d love to give this port a hug.


*


The word “depart” is enigmatic. It doesn't necessarily signify the very beginning, nor does it need to be very fast. It’s both what’s unknown and known. You know that you won’t stop here, you’ll keep going, you have hopes for yourself and the future. You don’t know what kind of path this will be, for how long you’ll be on it, or how difficult it will be. However, remaining stationary would be too boring; that doesn't seem like a good attitude. Somehow, it feels like something’s being wasted. Let’s depart, not only because we have faith, but also because we can.


*


There are bound to be accidents en route — you might miss the destination, or you might take a longer route — but there is no need to be anxious about these.


*


There will be lessons learnt along the way. To me, every journey I make is a stop where I avidly observe everything. There must be something there that I can share with you in the future, something that helps me constantly grow. It waters the tree in my heart—why should I limit the potential of my growth? I’m perpetually preparing, and watching myself become better.



^Notes: Permission obtained from @居仔啊to post on-site.

Original weibo: https://m.weibo.cn/2678098590/4361849603041419

You are welcome to keep the words for private use, but please do NOT copy & repost without permission! Translation differs from the official American/Australian versions.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page