top of page
Search
  • ZYLIF_

Words from DEPART (II) 英文版

作者:朱一龙

Written by Zhu Yilong

英文翻译:居仔啊^

English translation by 居仔啊^


I imagine myself putting on a pair of white shoes, not because I earnestly like the colour white, but because I want to walk a little more carefully, a little more steadily. The word "reckless" might be too strong in this case. We're fearless about some things, and we must be humble about others. Wearing white shoes can also be a way to remain humble, and serves as a reminder to myself. I want every step I take to be unwavering; I want to keep going for a long time.


*

The sun shone brightly as we passed by a historical site. The light cascaded down boundlessly, washing away the existing sorrow. I don't want to be a garden, I want to be a ray of sunlight. Admiring the old garden was like visiting and pondering the past, but under the sun, everything becomes different. I hope that wherever I pass, the sadness will also be washed away like that, in exchange for peace and warmth. This way, what we see won't only be the beauty in the imperfection, but also the rewards in store for us.


Become a ray of sunlight.


*


Being able to walk around freely is the best, just like how the best trips happen when you move to that city. Things happen at random when I also see myself as an unknown.


The best itineraries are unplanned. I want to write my own travel book, using my eyes to explore the shapes and colours of the destinations. When the surprises that are already known are no longer, that is also part of a life which is planned. As such, "surprises" are taken away from one's dictionary.


*

The movie Roman Holiday often comes to mind.


Time seems to stop in black-and-white films, and while there's no doubt that we're watching a love story that happened in Rome, we're looking at the beauty in the light and shadows too. That distinct graininess makes the actors' faces look deep and charming - who wouldn't want their time to be frozen within such a classic scene?


Occasionally, I think back to my days in Rome. I think back to those moments where I was photographed in black and white and how they almost felt like a dream come true. Every time I take black-and-white photos now, I'll recall this movie, Rome and the charming Hepburn.


*


^Notes: Permission obtained from @居仔啊 to post on-site.

Original weibo: https://m.weibo.cn/2678098590/4361849603041419

You are welcome to keep the words for private use, but please do NOT copy & repost without permission! Translation differs from the official American/Australian versions.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page