top of page
Search
  • ZYLIF_

Words from DEPART (III) 英文版

作者:朱一龙

Written by Zhu Yilong

英文翻译:居仔啊^

English translation by 居仔啊^


30 years old.

A 30-year-old Aries.

Some feel that it's difficult to face this number. It's just an ordinary age, that's all. I'm still me - I grew till I was 10, then 20 and up to now, it's the same. You might ask me what made me who I am today, but it isn't the time to look back yet. I need to focus on everything that I have to do right now, do it well, and face the future. That's what is important, isn't it?


*


What will my future be like? Travelling, living, performing - there's no need to make deliberate plans, I'm just trying my best to continue. To become the person that you'd like to become, or for your dreams, all you need is to do your best.


Our present is also our future.


*


Regardless of what language they speak, the voice of a child simply sounds pure and direct. Their happiness and doubt, their curiosity and playfulness - these syllables are not meaningless. Perhaps in their eyes, I'm like a doll. I gaze at them and tell them, don't be afraid, I'm human, just like you. That smile is so angelic and moving.


I like to listen to their voices, soothe their uneasiness, and feel their joy. Part of us has grown up, and part of us hasn't. I like who I am - they will like who I am too, won't they? I see something fresh in them; this is also a form of leaning. Sometime, I tell you what they've taught me, bit by bit.


*


At dusk when night has fallen, I see the street lamps that have just lit up and I feel secure. It's as if every path I take is correct and is a return journey. On every path I've taken in the night, I feel like only the street lamps are living. Everyone wishes that they'll meet a street lamp on every path they take - we can also become a street lamp for someone else. Maybe they've just been through a tough time, and only have the strength to carry on after looking at us. There's a kind of warmth that is mutually shared.


*


Gardens in every city have unique, enchanting, earthly scents. When I pass by, I can't help but pause.


They're breathing, just like us, yet they seem so carefree, swaying in the gentle breeze. With that scent that can't be described as fragrant, and that stance that isn't exactly free, it's as thought they're trying really hard to live. They endeavour to absorb sunlight and sway in the breeze. These qualities add a little charm to their mundaneness.


Whenever you pass by a garden, stop for a bit - I'll be cheering you on from here.

*


^Notes: Permission obtained from @居仔啊 to post on-site.

Original weibo: https://m.weibo.cn/2678098590/4361849603041419

You are welcome to keep the words for private use, but please do NOT copy & repost without permission! Translation differs from the official American/Australian versions.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page